Posted in In Dedication...

Nothing Lasts Forever

Nothing has ever lasted forever

Not even friendships steeped

In time and long trust

Until time itself becomes the enemy

Crumbling castles, rusting doors

Running age old strength into the ground

With barely a glance at it’s own actions.

And now, just shy of another decade

Time turned its gaze to another

A hapless victim, struggling against fate

Its inexorable inevitability

Glaring with one baleful Cyclopsian eye

At a cherished partner of long years

Bruising value, unraveling faith

Leaving behind a once green, hopeful vale

Now burnt with the fires of despair.

Therein lay my hope and my strength

And my reason for laughter

Now it is all gone, taking everything with it

Smeared into the ash and muddied with blood

Leaving this haplesss creature

Consumed by a void as barren as a desert

That yearns for water, even as a mirage.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

12 thoughts on “Nothing Lasts Forever

    1. Sadness lots. But glad you like the poem, Nandita. Glad to have your voice speaking here again. 🙂 Even my joys seem to be ringed with a touch of darkness. And my sorrows always have been dripping with it. This particular poem is heavy with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can sense the heaviness here. But please never forget your darkness is pure light. And even if you tend to forget, I will keep reminding you. Stay bright, girl!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I will most gladly accept such reminders. 🙏 I am sure to need them for a long time to come. But I will try to remember the light of my darkness, and it’s illuminating warmth. Thank you for the encouragement!

        Like

Leave a comment