Posted in In Dedication...

Lying in wait…

In dedication to the one I love ❤

Hold me longer, call me baby,

Clear my mind, it’s all so hazy,

Or maybe it’s just the silver in my eyes,

That’s making everything look so crazy.

I cannot help that my heart misses you,

Nor that my mind won’t let you go,

You are the light of my eyes,

You brush away the darkness in my soul.

There is no fear I fear but the fear of parting,

No loss that so keenly pierces my heart,

The greater the distance the stronger my fear,

More vulnerable now than I was at the start.

I am assured my fears are unfounded,

That this is but the first flush of love that speaks​,

But for the tumult the twists through my very being,

I would be calm, as reason entreats.

With a touch of your hand, come back to me,

And perhaps the salt that tracks across this dusty plain,

Might not leave behind a bitter taste,

But make sight a sweet joy once again.

©Ruth.P 2017

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

11 thoughts on “Lying in wait…

Leave a Reply

