Posted in The Wandering Mind

A Labyrinth of Mirrors

Sometimes I turn to speak a thought
A random, dreaming utterance
Born from the flitting pieces of my mind
As natural a movement as any I’ve learnt
Over these years of my life
But as I turn and see this empty space
My mind stutters to a stop
Those random thoughts that I had herded
Break formation, scatter, and are lost
Fleeing from the blooming surprise
A renewed sense of disbelieving shock
And I wonder if this is how it will be
Through all the years that lie ahead of me
This turning and stopping
This crashing of impulse
This re-learning of old loss
This renewal of hurtful sorrow
The wounds are filled and healing now
No more blood flows from them
And yet, the new skin is tender
The ache is still fresh.
No memory will be lost in the years to come
So much I am sure of, having experienced it before
But it is these darts I fear,
Flying sharp and true
Right through all defenses
Not hurting the body, but the mind is black and blue.
This assurance I do have
Whatever the future may bring or be
There’ll be no lack for hope
No recourse to “wait and see”

No matter the time or change

I will always be, strongly, Me.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

12 thoughts on “A Labyrinth of Mirrors

  1. I love everything about this and I love how you rise above it all in the end. The vicious circle of thoughts, your inner rumination, the hurting and the fear – all subservient to hope. Powerful words, Ruth. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

