Posted in Being True, The Wandering Mind

Yesterday; or, Rewind

Stench of rubber

Screech of steel

Crash of transparent

Viewing screen

Sound and light

Both too bright

Gasping breath

Dizzying sight

Shooting flashes

Of fresh pain

Searing metal

Bloody stains

Vision flashes

In a blur

Void of sound

Leeched of color

Voices shouting

Beating drums

Paling faces

Heart still pumps

 

Un-conscious

D-r-i-f-t-i-n-g

W-a-k-ing

Blinking

 

Doctors, questions

Steel and white

Numb body

Stretching tight

Bloody cotton

Rusty glass

Rushing sound

Seeing stars

Steadying arms

(Wanting you)

Still unbelieving

Of the truth

Wraps for body

Pills for pain

Support for walking

Strong again

Tired and weary

Seeking rest

Dose of sleep

Would be best

(But not before

I tell you

There’s nothing I

Would keep from you.)

 

My dear friends

I hope you see

This isn’t mere poetry.

It happened to me

Yester-eve

And now to a recovery!

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

34 thoughts on “Yesterday; or, Rewind

      1. It left me in such a daze yesterday, there was nothing I could do but to rest. But my mind had different plans, and I awoke with the first few lines already formed just the way they are. The rest came, when I put pen to paper. And it has proved to be a catharsis for my mind, even if my body has a way to go for the same goal.
        But I do thank you for your appreciation. I’m glad my thoughts came across well enough to seem as ‘well-crafted’ as you find them. Thank you also for your support. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I’m doing better now. Recovering well with lots of rest and taking things easy too. The trauma has faded a bit, and I am glad to say that even though I’m not sleeping as well as I should, the overall rest I’m taking has been a relief. Thank you so much for asking after me. I do hope you’ve been keeping well, and wish you a wonderful weekend!! 🙂

        Like

  1. Of course, this piece is very well-written, but I’m so very sorry you were in an accident! The last stanza stunned me… I would say that about half-way through (maybe less) I felt (or knew) this was descriptive of an accident, BUT obviously had no idea you were actually involved! Praying you enjoy a very quick recovery!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Many thanks for your appreciation and for your good wishes. 🙂 I realised recently, that putting my perspective and emotions out here, in this space, made for an excellent cathartic outlet and helped me deal with things better, with a clearer mind. Which is how this piece was born. I am glad, however, that it’s raw, direct delivery is still appreciable, even though, of course, I did leave the worst out of it. Thank you again! And I do hope to have recovered soon! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh my goodness! I was so sorry to read that you had been involved in an accident! As I was reading your poem I knew it was yourself involved and your poem is well written with a raw spontaneous flow that alludes to the freshness of this occurrence… Take good care my friend and I do hope you will feel better soon. Yes…WP works well for releasing all those pent up feelings and emotions. Love and hugs and blessings to you…get better soon. 🌷🌹🌼🌸🌺🌻🌞 xx

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I am glad to hear you are getting better. I can only imagine it to be… If your brain doesn’t feel too foggy, maybe it could give you sometime to write.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. This poem is amazing! You are a soul writer. I am on my way to comment on it and if you agree share it under the featured challenge on “sounds”? I think it would fit perfectly!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you so much, B! I had wanted some of the poems I’ve posted here, including ‘Present’ to be published in print, but somehow, they were accepted. You have no idea how grateful I am that you find them so worthy of applause. You restore my faith in my work, with your appreciation. Thank you for that! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Publishing in print is a nightmare and it is a very unfair universe… You can see it when you enter some bookshops… On the shelves you can find anything from wonderful poetry to utter crap, seriously, I don’t see how they even consider some of those poetry.
        Don’t feel diminished because your words were not validated by that one person at that point. It doesn’t mean anything.
        I stand by my words this poem is a gem.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

