Posted in The Wandering Mind

Darkling, Pure

My Darkness is an angel

Strong and pure of light

But it is her shadow that I love most

Her invisible tiger stripes.

 

She keeps good company under the sun

Dressed in robes of white

But the hour that she delights in

Comes around midnight.

 

So come my darkling beauty,

With the devil dance a pipe

Waltz a round or two with the horned folk

‘Fore you set them alight.

 

Watch your wings for the hour mark

And they will point you home

Snow white for day’s Heaven

And black under starlit dome.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

37 thoughts on “Darkling, Pure

  1. I love how you’ve glorified the darkness. It has such a sing-song rhythm to it, that I was actually found myself reciting it in a sing song voice. You are in fantastic form girl!
    The opening lines are my favorite. Immediate attention grabbed, because of its sheer ferocity and the oxymoronic quality.

    My Darkness is an angel

    Strong and pure of light

    But it is her shadow that I love most

    Her invisible tiger stripes.

    And everything thereafter… .

    Kudos!
     

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Phew! Thank you for putting me out of my misery! For a moment there I thought I’d invited the angel’s wrath! *shudder* 😉 I love the darkness too as equally as I love the light. And the poem is meant to be skippy, so its great that you liked that quality!
      Oxymoronic, huh? Wow, never saw that at all! Thank you for pointing it out to me! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Uh oh.. Accidental writing is not good, as far as I’m concerned. that’s a thing of the head-writers (who write from their heads). You are a heart-writer, my friend. That’s the difference between intellectual writing and heartfelt writing. But it’s completely my opinion. No offense meant to anyone here. But am I making sense to you?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is delightful and other worldly and yes has a sing song quality about it! It sort of describes the 2 sides of the human psyche…dark and light! Can I join in the midnight festivities? Beautifully penned… 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  3. This poem is a delight to read. The ever-present duality of light and darkness is turned into an harmonious entity, glorified and transcended by your words. I love that you don’t stop at opposing the two elements. You render them somehow complementary. It is engaging in its form and compelling in its ideas. As always, I am a fan! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am huge proponent of the school of thought (if one exists), that says that light and dark go together. Plus, I have a lot of interest in the ancient Hellenistic mythologies and they hold the idea of balance as quite important.
      And finally, I love the night. I will be posting a poem on it today; the result on my ruminations. But the point is, that the night is the greatest supporter of balance than even the day. I cannot help but see them entwined deeply together in all ways, They look absolutely beautiful to me.
      Thank you for liking my poem so much. It is an honour. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

