Posted in Beginnings...

Happiness is a Choice

It’s so simple to share a smile

Just look at a body and curl your lips

Let something warm spark in your eyes

And watch the other soften ’round the edges.

 

The days are perfect for that sort of thing

A time for meeting, with arms open wide

Spread hugs and kisses, let clear laughter ring

Welcome their efforts with another of thine.

 

Hear a baby laugh at the antics of her dog

No sound of cheer with more abandon you’ll find

Lift your hearts free from life’s daily fog

Live in the moments that surround your life.

 

No heart is alone, no matter how lonely

There’s always a giver around the corner somewhere

If you let your inner world be warm and sunny

You’ll have no dearth of your own smiles to share!

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

28 thoughts on “Happiness is a Choice

  1. The title, to begin with, was so inspirational, my dearest Ruth. And then you hit it bang on with your closing lines. If only one has love within can that love shine through. And that love is possible only if you value yourself enough to realize you are in God’s centre and not man’s corner. Along the same lines, a beautiful person may not necessarily be good but a good person is always beautiful. And will always see the good in others. I was just telling a friend here that love is the only way. You, my dearest friend, are as beautiful as the untarnished soul.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m glad you like the poem. Sometimes they just happen at the right time. And you’re right in that a good person is beautiful because of the love they have for themselves and for God, and through God for everyone else. Spot on, in fact! 🙂

      But I’m hardly untarnished, my dear. Hardly anyone is. All we can do is try our best to rise up and away towards something better. The truly good people are those who trust in God’s goodness and love, and have your back no matter what. Those are the people who seem better and higher than the sea of humanity, and the others flock to them, attracted by their goodness, even if they don’t quite understand what it is that they’re feeling. It is the soul that believes in God’s love that is truly untarnished, beyond all else. I’m not quite there yet. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Darling, but you just proved my hypothesis right. Need I say more, yet again? 😉 Untarnished is this! At least to me. What you just wrote .
        And, to be genuinely happy for others, to wish well, to give generously and sincerely, to spread the message of God, to have humility, empathy, to feel, to kill hatred with love, to receive graciously, to have that love to be able to love.
        On a different vein altogether, Wataspp?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, when it comes to the hypothesis, what was that again? 😀
        Trust me, the bouts of darkness are still around, but the light is getting stronger. I’m much calmer now than I used to be barely 2 weeks ago. So, yes, I have God’s acceptance to thank for that change. I have always been capable of love, of giving it more than receiving it. I don’t know what that means though.
        On a different vein, yes whatsapp!

        Like

      1. Yes, those are always the most common concerns with us all. There’s so little time we can give to the things we truly love to do. That being said, sleep and rest are still important. Perhaps you could read two posts later and sleep a half hour more, or something? Or read one post during your commute to work? Try something that would allow to get the rest you need. We don’t want you falling ill. I hope you are getting better. Blessings of good health and rest be yours. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you 🙂 I’d read posts on my commute if I could but since I drive to work and back, that’s not possible. I listen to audiobooks while I drive 🙂 I’m working on a saner schedule. It may take me some time to figure it out but I’ll get there. 🙂 Thank you for your concern. I’m feeling better 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Glad to know you’re doing better. Yes, a saner schedule is what everyone needs these days!! Audiobooks are rather soothing, don’t you think? And excellent travelling companions too! 🙂 I do hope things work themselves out for you soon so you can get the rest you need more regularly. That would be good. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

