Posted in Poems - A Collection of Expressions

Innocence

I see you standing there
Silent in the fury of foaming waters
Gazing out at the hues of pink
Melting into a ribbon of blue.

Not many come this way
As you do;
Stepping lightly onto grains of history
Submerged in the rushing tides.

Seasons don’t seem to hinder
Your barefoot negligence
But life birthed among the sands
Halts even your elfin tread.

I watch as you find your perch
On my first cousin,
Grey and cold; so unlike
Your rose-blushed youth.

Your gaze, verdant as the seas
In the shallows; widens
As you stand under the open heavens
Laden with clouds and stars alike.

I wish I was more weathered
Or less; So undiscriminating gravity
Could pull me ahead and on
To join you in your serious play.

Instead, here I remain
Observant as the ages
While you bathe the sea-kissed shifting sands
In the blessing of your sparkling laughter.

Β 

Β© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

16 thoughts on “Innocence

  1. Ruth, I can’t believe i missed a couple of your posts. But right now, I can barely keep my eyes open. I’ll be back here tomorrow afternoon. Meanwhile, email me your cell phone no?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the way you’ve written this Ruth. So very eloquent. I wish I could have been in your head as you were thinking this. There are hints as to the context of the poem but nothing overly obvious. This moves me to imagine and a love that!

    “Stepping lightly onto grains of history
    Submerged in the rushing tides”

    “… life birthed among the sands
    Halts even your elfin tread”

    You’ve given the reader freedom to insert their own conceptions and notions.

    Thank you.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It is a very ‘free’ poem, in all it’s possible connotations. So, yes, you the reader are welcome to make it all your own. All except for the setting can be adapted to the images and connections the readers wish to see within the poem.

      So glad you like it! Even more that it moved you. That means I’ve done well with my work. Thank you for that. πŸ™‚

      There is however, just one question. who did you think was the speaker?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, no, just mental images. I do think the imagination of any person is so much more powerful than photos.
        And you could be right.. Either time or God. The speaker I’d chosen however is much more earthly. He’s absolutely down to earth, in fact. My speaker is a rock on the beach.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ruth, I had a good mind to copy paste the entire poem here, for I seriously am unable to pick my favourite lines. Do you know how insanely talented you are? Do you? Please let me tell you, I’m finding myself in awe here and a little embarrased (honestly) to be called one of your favourite poets. I bow to thee !

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think we all know how bad we are, or how bad we perceive ourselves to be. So really, to just accept our own work as good is fine privately, but impossible with anyone else. And yes that means you’re still one of my favourite poets!! πŸ™‚ can’t escape from that. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

