Posted in The Wandering Mind

Time…

Sands of time, Relentless fall
Dissipate, Destroy, Defuse, Disguise
Pitter-pat, accumulate in silence

Lifetimes pass fleet as wind
Unseen, unknown, unsung, undone
Quavering voices forget in time

Man’s belief in self-worth
Chosen, favoured, chartered, failed
Unacknowledged, Doomed to fade unpraised

Sands of never-ceasing time
Slow, Vigorous, Solemn, Volatile
Pitter-pat into the void

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

50 thoughts on “Time…

  1. …do I sense a hint of sadness 😦 and a wee bit of negativity in these lines …the sands of time running away with no consequence, no purpose….? Made me think this one my friend. Been away gardening for other folk and am trying to keep in touch here on WP as and when able! Just wanted to check in briefly … Spring is very much in evidence here now and my spirits are lifting by the day! 🙂 Take care and happy creativity! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Imagine a cat cocking its head to one side and looking at you inquisitively. That’s me right now. I think I just couldn’t see beyond the meaning I had used to write my poem. Whereas you saw it the right way up. What an eye-opener! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, my cat was rather spoiled. Got stuck up a tree once when chased by a puppy. Kept yowling most piteously until we climbed up a ladder and brought her down. It was then I understood how Superman must feel at having to rescue cats. 😉
        So yes, I did beat her, several times, until she had her own litter. Couldn’t catch her eye then, much less play the game. But that was its own kind of fun. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha! Then you had a normal cat. Mine was just more interested in snuggling. She loved my bed. And in being waited on hand and foot. Sliced fish, warm milk, and even a few licks of ice cream. But she was very affectionate. Sweet fluffy little thing! ❤ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. This is why cats don’t know what to make of me. They see a human who doesn’t consume cream or keep it in her fridge and they’re wondering if perhaps I am an alien scout too. If so, for who? o_0 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Your talent is staggering, girl! 🙂 (accha wala stagger) You are bleeding profusely and your blood is all over me now. Very beautifully done! Truly exquisite.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know what to say! I’d accepted the first poem you reblogged. But I’m floored with this one. I am so glad you like them enough to reblog them, but gosh! So absolutely unexpected; the second more so than the first, in some ways.
      But I do indeed thank you for sharing both the poems. I’m so glad you liked them! 🙂 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are talented, and I want to recruit talented authors to participate to the challenges we offer on Mug’s Tale ❤ I am so pleased to hear that makes you happy!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

