Posted in Being True, Poems - A Collection of Expressions

On the Cusp

The curtain falls, but I

Can’t seem to move away

I’m staring at your face

Lost in memory’s haze.

 

You’re always by my side

You’ve kept me straight

Kept me from straying

I am bound to you.

 

Your insistence is unwavering

You say I don’t know you

I’m half-afraid you might be right

Though I know it isn’t true.

 

I hear you swear you’ll stay with me

You promise you’ll never leave

But there’s a part of you I’ve lost already

A side I’ll never see.

 

And there’s the cruel irony

For, my heart is filled

With sorrow, but

My mind; it knows relief.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

12 thoughts on “On the Cusp

      1. I most certainly did, my friend. It tugged at my heart strings and i actually might have shed a tear or two. (Ruth I’ve gone private with my site. If youd still like to read me, please request access)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not an easy poem to write actually. But I decided to just put things down exactly as I feel them. No need to needlessly complicate things after all. (I just sent the request. Thank you for letting me know. Why the privacy though?)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Request granted 🙂 Will tell you the reason at leisure. Ruth I’m terribly sorry, but seems I forgot to save your email address the last time. Could you please send me just one more time? The gmail one. Thanks

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

