Posted in Being True, Poems - A Collection of Expressions

Missing You, Choosing Me

I see sunlight through the starlight

I feel warm rain in the breeze

I know I will be forgotten

In the morn.

 

My own memories, flow like water

Mix like star dust with my dreams

There’s no happily ever-after

Now I’m torn.

 

Can I look into your eyes, and see

Could I ever see your smile, and know

Will I ever have no doubts, with you?

Do I even have a choice?

 

I’ve accepted, all the regrets

And my mistakes, they’re mine too

Now I’m learning to be happy

With myself.

 

Though I’d rather have you with me

To… not be lonely in their gaze

But I know you’re, not really healthy

For me.

 

Can I look into your eyes, and see

Could I ever see your smile, and know

Will I ever have no doubts, about you?

I think I’ve made my choice.

I choose me.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

10 thoughts on “Missing You, Choosing Me

    1. Like I told Manan long ago, I manage to somehow keep myself at just the brink of all those emotions that threaten to drag me down into the murky depths. It’s a long hard slog back up, and I’d rather not do it all over again.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow! 🙂 Ditto, friend! Literally. Well, except about blogging songs. I only ever seem to be able to write them very occasionally. But my best friend is a musician and my inspiration for this song. I’ve found its always best to just let the creative spirit pour out in whatever form it takes. Might not be able to take up an instrument though. Hardly any time for that kind of dedication, sadly.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

