Posted in In Dedication..., Poems - A Collection of Expressions

Most Important

This creation is in dedication to my Best Friend, who has been my strength and my salvation and my companion for 17 long years. Through all my craziness and the illogicality of my youth. Through the pain of heartbreak and the weirdness of life. Through the quintessential thicks and thins. I have had him to fall back on. He has always been there. He truly is my own personal blessing. God Bless!

 

 

It is true I am hiding

Or trying to

From the only arms that can comfort me.

The only voice that gives me reason.

The only heart I wholly trust.

 

It is not without regret

Or even pain

That I choose to stand away.

That I choose to let go.

That I choose me.

 

But all it really takes is

A single conversation

To bring me back to myself.

And it tells me so many things.

Most important being, that I do not have to be afraid.

 

At all.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

19 thoughts on “Most Important

      1. Been there, done that! Yes, you are right, the choice is in being you. Looking inwards, letting all the toxins out and slowly feeling yourself purged. On a note personal note, poetry worked for me. Which is why i can never stop writing. I hope you too let the ink flow and bleed away the blue. It really helps, Ruth, let’s you be in touch with yourself. As for friends, I’m just a line away!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. All too true. And you are right about the freedom writing poetry can give. Almost everything that I have posted here, has been about catharsis. And it has healed me. I can think more clearly once I have allowed the ink to flow and “bleed away the blue”. You have been a good friend already, in reading my little endeavors with such patience. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ruth, I feel happy to be your friend. Just don’t stop writing. It’s sadness mostly that makes the verses flow, I keep telling anyone who withdraws from writing. 🙂 Take care, my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I am too. My dearest friend is a special person who has never failed to help me exactly when I’ve most needed him. Like you, he is also pleased that I am learning not to be afraid. I too am hopeful that things will improve from here on.
      I thank you for your prayers and wishes and hugs and do share them with you!
      I also extend to you Easter greetings and hope that the blessings of the day bring you the gift of peace.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

