Posted in Poems - A Collection of Expressions

Un-win-able

Perhaps to love was a mistake.

Though I hadn’t known it was one when I made it

No-one told me; Neither did I know to ask,

Not knowing I loved.

 

Perhaps to love was a mistake.

Born of simple desire, of fondness and friendship

In the echoes of shared laughter; O cruel heart!

Thou hast slain me!

 

Perhaps to love was a mistake.

One cannot fake an illness that one lives everyday

Loss is more haunting than ghosts; Memories

Mine! Whisper in sorrow.

 

Perhaps to love was a mistake.

Every day is a new battlefield to be conquered

The mind is black; The weary soul

Prays – forbearance or deliverance!

 

Perhaps to love was a mistake.

Yet I do not regret it even in the depths of my haunting loss

My struggles are my victory over what remains to me

Proof that the battle was never meant to be won.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

10 thoughts on “Un-win-able

  1. Heartwrenching write Ruth! This verse got to me, my eyes welled up.
    Perhaps to love was a mistake.
    Born of simple desire, of fondness and friendship
    In the echoes of shared laughter; O cruel heart!
    Thou hast slain me!

    But Isn’t it better to have loved and lost than to have never loved at all?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! All emotions and experiences are part of life. Everything we feel contributes to it. Consequently, some of us live, others exist. Some make their mistakes with their eyes open. Others, being blindfolded, stumble into the same pit, walking in circles. In the end, life is only what we make of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So true, that! The only point I disagree with is that some of us fools are led by love into making the same mistake many times over, eyes wide open and all… 🙂 You take care & God bless! Will be seeing you virtually more often, I hope!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

