Posted in Poems - A Collection of Expressions

Thirst

Outside the window of my coffee house,

A potted plant has just been watered.

Brimming over, the water sinks

Both outside and in.

 

I watch the waters recede;

The obvious thirst of a parched earth.

Land rises to meet air,

As from Noah’s flood.

 

The saturated earthen pot

Is bloated; The waters flow,

Released as from a subterranean cavern;

A bubbling, spring surging forth.

 

Above, the green has brightened,

A sunnier hue of spring

Against the backdrop of shifting white,

Framed within two dreaming hazel eyes.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

4 thoughts on “Thirst

  1. This is my first reading of one of your works. I am amazed by the depth in simplicity of your words. I love the imagery, particularly of the two dreaming hazel eyes. Oh Ruth!! What a writer you are!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wrote it this morning, in exactly the setting outlined in the poem. I’m glad I have a habit of always carrying with me, my notebook and pen, or this observation would have escaped me!
      The dreaming hazel eyes have a two-fold meaning in reality. They could be eyes, or the slightly glassy window panes through which I was watching the plant.
      But I will say, I loved writing it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

