Posted in Poems - A Collection of Expressions

A Self-Portrait in Rank and File

Peace.

Long has it escaped my grasping hands,

Unwilling to remain where it could not be nurtured.

Long has it had hope, for the blood among the sands,

To cease to flow, and the wounds be sutured.

 

Pain.

A constant companion, though no friend;

Like a thief in the shadows, stabbing deep

Opportunity unmatched in its nefarious trends

Of causing the wounds and making them bleed.

 

Shadows.

Surrounded by them have I been,

Lonely have been my hours of late.

Separated from the light distantly seen,

Caught up in tendrils of confusion and hate.

 

Mind.

A most long-suffering voice,

Battling against the screams of the heart.

Quiet and helpful has been it’s advice,

Dismissing disorder and chaotic upstarts.

 

Love.

That swashbuckling pirate rogue,

Aiding Peace, causing Pain, waiting in the Shadows.

Providing to Mind’s speech it’s epilogue,

When all is said and done, it’s chosen path is simple and narrow.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

32 thoughts on “A Self-Portrait in Rank and File

  1. Dark but not bitter..your self portrait is a pleasure to read through and through. And I love the way you’ve compartmentalized it. It’s brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the flow, the rhythm, the parts, the way it starts, the way it develops…. and the way it ends, just wow! That last paragraph just has it all wrapped up in a word and four lines!

    All in all, this is a great, original piece, very creative and incredibly sincere just like the rest of your work!

    Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! I started with writing articles, and believed that I would graduate over to poems in time. But now I see my posts have more poems than prose and more of them already churning in my mind. I too am looking forward to what emerges next from my mind.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I just love this…loved the divisions, the thought processes that must have gone into this, stage by stage it blossoms until we have the finale that sums it all up! Wow! This is so masterful, skillful, profound and such an insightful self portrait! I shall be following you from now on…just got to find the Following Button!…not great with technology…! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh my gosh! I am so deeply honoured by your words. And all those adjectives! Thank you, ever so much for your encouraging review! I hope I am able to live up to the expectation I’ve somehow built with this poem. And I hope that if I do disappoint, your review will be kind. Thank you also for following me. I look forward to continuing my journey here with you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. …you are most welcome and worry not about expectations. Not every poem can possibly be on a par with say one that just flowed and came together naturally…ups and downs… and at the end of the day I ask myself…”why do I do this?”…the answer is for pleasure, for enjoyment. Any offering you post up will be welcomed with a non judgmental attitude. It’s all a learning curve and I’ve only been doing this for a year…!! Thank you also for following me…I much appreciate it my friend…😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Krys, it is good to know there are people like you out there so ready to help newbies like me and give us such beautiful, uplifting reviews! Thank you so much for helping, as every little helps. And I am only now beginning my journey. I hope to enjoy a great long while, being creative together with all my new friends. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You are most welcome my friend! Ha ha..I am also very much a newbie having only been writing on here for a year! So much I still need to explore within the realms of “Poetry”. My “problem” is I do SO many other things…I play organ, paint, and am a part time gardener. I still have 2 young adults living with me and I remarried in 2011! Phew…and turned 60 in January! Phew! But I am SO enjoying being on here…reading your writing, and meeting all the other folk that drop into my Blog that it is a breath of fresh air. If there is the odd gap in my responding then it means I am in the garden as the weather is warming up here…Yes! Every little bit really does help and it is nice to have made your acquaintance my friend. Here’s to your new-found creativity! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you ever so much for sharing so much about yourself! You certainly have a busy life and it is commendable that you’re still exploring new ways of having fun. I agree that meeting so many new people here has been rather a learning experience, not to mention, that it gets us in touch with people everywhere in the world! Good to know your garden is going strong. What flowers are you nurturing? And as a self-proclaimed newbie yourself, here’s to your creativity too!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Thank you so for your lovely comment. Phew! Yes…I am often busy and the last few days have been spent playing lots of church services, one of them a very big funeral here in the town…sad sad circumstances. Lots of practicing, choosing hymns, voluntary music etc. By the time tomorrow afternoon comes I will have played 5 church services in 8 days! I dare not have opened my laptop…Poetry would have distracted me…much as I am enjoying this new form of self expression…There are never enough hours in the day for all I hope to achieve! In the greenhouse I hope soon to sew sweet peas and then when it warms up runner beans, cucumbers, courgettes, tomatoes and a whole variety of herbs. We make our own compost and have been filling our raised beds with it. It is now time to plant spuds/ tatties…but the weather has turned cold and wet again for this Easter week end. I will certainly dip into here as and when I can. Your site name, by the way, is most interesting! A happy Easter to you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I think I’ve checked in at just the right time too! Yes, we do get busy with a myriad of church activities, and boy have you been busy! Gosh! Yes, truly, coming online, even for something that is so invigorating, would be a distraction. But it’s nice to know that this sphere is just waiting for you to come back to it in time. That’s a splendid range of veggies, and I do like raised beds so much easier to work than a whole garden. Umm, neater, somehow? The weather is never what we really want it to be at a particular time, anyway. Though I do love to commune with the wind. Such a happy element! Do you mean ‘divergentcandour’? Yes, I like it too! A very Happy Easter to you as well. I sure hope it brightens up soon! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Yes, divergentcandour…it has a lovely ring about it! Do hope you had a lovely Easter also. We did have a few days of some heat and sun but the weather has returned to being very windy and cold, not quite gardening weather in Scotland yet. As the weather warms up I will be sharing my WP time with my own garden and gardening for others. Will dip in as and when I am able. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Thank you for the endorsement of my chosen name for this site. I do hope its message comes cross in my work as well. We did have a good Easter, thank you for asking. Sending lots of blessings your way! Ah yes, gardening and cold weather do not go together at all. But Spring’s here! That should bring gardening weather right back in no time. I hope it comes soon for you! We shall wait to see you here then, and to hear about the progress of your green thumb. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

