Posted in Poems - A Collection of Expressions

Saying Goodbye… A poem of dreams…

Saying Goodbye 

 

I hold your hand and feel a chill.

There’s a silence in the room.

I never saw the days go by,

I never saw that you were cold.

 

I can’t tell when the season changed.

I can’t tell when the first leaf fell.

I never saw that we were drifting,

I never saw that you were spent.

 

I’ve lived nights just watch you sleep.

No bed I ever found softer.

I just want to see it in your eyes,

I just want to know it could be true.

 

And then I saw you with your friend.

I heard your smiling laughter.

I knew then that you were there,

I knew then that you had gone.

 

I know I hold you on my arm.

But I know your heart is out there.

You let me see it in your eyes.

You let me know how true it is.

 

Now I stand and watch you go.

I would never think to stop you.

I feel your laughter on my cheek,

I hold your hand and feel the warmth.

 

© Ruth P. – 2016

No part of this work may be reproduced.

Author:

An avid reader, thinker, daydreamer and listener. I like black cats and warm rain and fast cars. And oh yes, I quite like to write too!!

2 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye… A poem of dreams…

Leave a Reply

